What Is In Your Way?

Do you find it interesting how many times you get some great creative inspirations, but you never manage to start (or finish) them?  I probably have over 100 half done creative projects and a million more ideas that I never started.  When I ask myself why or try to get motivated to complete them, I find a million reasons not to.

Reasons pile up and serve as anchors to our dreams.  It is hard to try new things and find your niche without trying.  I have said and heard so many of the following excuses:

1.  I don’t have time for anything new.  2.  No one would like my projects.  3.  I am too old.  4.  I don’t know how to get started.  5.  I am not good at that.  6.  I don’t have anyone to do it with me.

I have seen many articles that talk about why we have trouble staying motivated -1.  Fear of failure.  2.  Afraid to take risks.  3.  Attention seeking – ever notice how much people like to complain about their lives, very few talk about the successes.  4.  Negative attitudes  5.  Perfectionism

One of my biggest roadblocks is seeing my project not turning out the way I had planned, so I abandon it.  In the beginning, I research, plan, ask around, and try to figure out what to do with my finished product.  Most times, I can reason that I will try to sell it, gift it, or use it.  But for some odd reason, I never feel proud enough of my work to wear it.  Although I love it when my daughter wears it, she looks so cute and can make anything look better.  But truthfully, why don’t I have the pride and confidence in my work.

Recently I have been having fun writing blog posts, but that again goes back to being afraid that no one is interested.  So, when I sit down to write I have a hard time staying motivated.  Worrying about what others think is a huge inspiration killer.  Starting a new blog is scary and hard.  You don’t know what will become of it and you don’t know what to do with it.  From many of the blogs that I read, I have seen a main theme – all of them started out at just a personal journal, a place for release, and even to keep family members involved in their lives.  The funny part is that they all agree, their blogs became so much more than their original intentions.  Staying with it and just enjoying the journey of writing, meeting others, and sharing experiences are the examples these people have used on how to succeed.

I love to create, but I don’t finish much.  I am so afraid (even crippled) by perfectionism.  Enjoying the creating should be my goal.  Liking my end product is my responsibility, maybe then I won’t care so much what others think.

But, back to my original thought – we all let things get in the way of our dreams.  WHY?  What does it take to overcome these obstacles?  What would our lives be like if we were able to stay inspired and reach our goals?  I get so down when I see all my unfinished projects.  Isn’t it better to be proud that I finished them?

This site had some good advice to share on staying motivated….  http://psychcentral.com/lib/2010/10-ways-to-find-new-motivation-and-rise-above-roadblocks/

Leave a Reply

