Dreamer – “Timmy’s in the well!”

Funny story about a crazy little arabian!  Not to sure if this story is inspiring, but it is a good example of keeping your mind open to some of the wonders around you.

I wrote a little about Dreamer in my post  “Controlling Things“.  She is a quirky, funny little horse.  She always suprises me with what she will do next.  If it is possible to say a horse is a clutz, then Dreamer would be just that!  She always manages to get herself into awkward and sometimes difficult predicaments.  I am always rescuing her from the latest.

For example, one day she walked right into our pool – right through the cover and all.  By the way those pool covers that claim to hold an elephant – DON’T hold horses apparently.

Poor Dreamer was stuck and couldn’t get herself out.  As I am about to tell you about how I had to go into the pool to wrap ropes around her for the rescue, picture a pool that had been abandoned by the previous owners for over three years.  As I am swimming in this cess pool I notice medicine bottles are actually floating up from the bottom.  UGGGHHH!!!!  We managed to get Dreamer out of the pool safely, with the help of my neighbor’s truck of course.

I digress.  Back to my reason for this post, because if I wanted to write a blog about all of her antics I would be writing for over 10 years.  She is just that crazy!

I foster horses for the Standardbred Retirement.  Currently, I have two fosters, two horses of my own, and one boarder (a Standardbred that I found a home).  Each morning at 5 am, I feed the crew before going to work.  This particular morning one of my fosters was missing, Sassy.

I waited for her to come when all of the horses came up to eat.  I had finished my chores, she still hadn’t appeared.  Sassy is partially blind, around 17 years old, and bears the scars of much neglect over the years.  I worry about her sometimes, but she is a fighter and looks much better than when she arrived.  (Another story of inspiration about her to come.)  I was starting to get concerned.

I drove my car around to the back side of the pastures, no Sassy.  I called for her, no Sassy.  This wasn’t like her.  Going back to the pasture, I decided to walk around until I could find her.

As I entered the gate, Dreamer met me with a little nudge.  Petting her on the shoulder (see, Arabian Princesses don’t allow anyone to pet their face.), I started walking towards the wooded (weedy) area. Dreamer followed me, I was thinking she probably didn’t have anything better to do.  I lead the way, as we trooped off into the woods.

I was calling and calling for Sassy —-  still nothing.  Then all of a sudden, Dreamer stops and becomes very alert.  She is staring off to the right into the a weedy patch.  Curious, I tried to find out what she saw.  NOTHING!  Another side note about Dreamer, she sees ghosts!

Giving up on Dreamer’s latest ghost, I returned to my trek.  Well, undaunted she decides to take the lead.  Interestingly enough, she heads to the right down a little path.  I am thinking she is going to investigate what she saw earlier.  This time, I was right!  She was leading me right to her object of interest – SASSY!

Sassy had gotten into a thick part of the weeds and couldn’t see what was going on at the barn.  Thankfully, she was happily munching!  I am realizing now that she might be going deaf, along with her many other issues.  Relieved, I walk over to make sure she OK.

Meanwhile, Dreamer heads back to the barn.   Proud of herself, for a job well done.  Returning to the barn, I call out “Thank you Dreamer!”.  I kid you not, she actually turned her head in my direction and whinnied!  Then she went about her merry way.

Now, some won’t believe my next statement, but I swear to you ……  Dreamer helped me find Sassy!  I wouldn’t have believed it myself, but in retrospect she has done this many times before.  I had never recognized it! Angelina, my other horse, has a bad habit of pawing at fences.  She has gotten her hoof caught many times.  Dreamer comes to the fence and calls out for me “Angelina is stuck again!”  I follow her to Angelina.

Bless my poor little clutz’s heart, she has waited for me to rescue her so many times.  Like the time she fell over the stall wall and it fell down on top of her.  When I arrived to the barn, she was patiently waiting for me to get her out.  Most horses panic, fight to free themselves, and will bring down anything that gets in the way.  In fact, some will fight the rescuer.  It is very dangerous to aid a horse that is trapped.  But, Dreamer doesn’t fight anymore, she just waits for me.  I think she now sees me as “MOM”, the one who helps her children out of predicaments.  In some small way, she depends on me to “fix” things.

I am tearing up just thinking about the untrusting, beaten down, broken spirit of a horse that I brought home many years ago.  The many years I spent trying to gain her trust, were rewarded in this realization.  She trusts me completely!  What a special gift!

Leave a Reply

