Inspired by people – American troops and their families

Let me just start by saying “Thank you to all the men and women of the military!  And….  thank you to their families!”

I am not a military brat, not married to a man in the armed forces, don’t have friends in the military…….  So when I write this, please remember I am a civilian in every sense of the word.

I don’t have first hand knowledge of the sacrifices.  I am not very politically involved with anything (in fact I don’t know whether I am a democrat or a republican).  I wouldn’t even say I am that great of a citizen.  I don’t give back like I should.

With all of that being said, I want to step out of my little tiny view of the world and realize how I came to enjoy all of these freedoms.  Also to remember who still protects my freedoms.  We are very lucky to have such a strong military and the financial backing to support it.  But we are also lucky to have people who are willing to dedicate their lives to protecting our country.

I can’t say there are too many things in my life that I would risk my life to protect – except my family.  The way I see it, as a civilian, these men and women of the armed forces are risking their lives to protect their family – the country!  We are lucky to be a part of this strong family.

I am not here to say that our country is supreme, better than all others, blah blah blah – I am just thankful for what we have.  Other countries are just as lucky, but some sadly are not.

I wouldn’t consider myself worldly by any means – but I do appreciate some of the things that most people do not have.  I don’t have to go home at night seeing armed guards everywhere, I don’t wake in the middle of the night to bombs exploding nearby, I don’t sit down to dinner only to have the electricity go out for some man created reason, I don’t worry whether or not I will see my family when I come home or whether or not my home is still standing, I don’t sit among my impoverished neighbors wondering if I will ever eat again, I don’t worry about persecution, I don’t worry about the government taking my money, I know that our judicial system will do its best to protect my rights, …….

Now I am sure that I have a very naive way of seeing things, but that is just fine with me.  I enjoy my freedom, rights, and personal gains afforded me in this country.  I am married to a man from Peru.  Growing up in Peru was a very different experience for him.  He loves country, don’t misunderstand, but he came to America for some of the freedoms I just mentioned.  He has had some of the worries I mentioned above – electricity turned off in protest, bombs exploding during the night, alarms going off, armed guards everywhere, no trust in the judicial system, money being taken, mugged by the extremely poor in desparation…….  Things that I can’t even fathom.  One the most important things for him and his family was to always kiss goodbye and tell their family they loved them – because they didn’t know if they would see them again.

As a civilian, I will admit most of my knowledge has come from watching “Army Wives”.  That’s right I admitted it!  Love the show!  I know it is dramatized and embellised a little for TV, but the real point is still there.  The sacrifices are real and they demonstrate the real feelings of the families left behind when their soldiers are off to war.  The mothers, fathers, children, spouses, and family members of these soldiers and of the soldiers give up so much for their job, duty, and country.  This should not be overlooked.  Some of these families never know if they will see their soldier again, when they go off to war.  The fathers and mothers who miss out on so much time with their children as they grow.  I can’t imagine, as a child, how it would feel to watch your mother/father go off for 6 months or more at a time.

THANK YOU! I am inspired by these families and soldiers, who are willing to sacrifice so much for honor, duty, and country!

I think Lee Greenwood says it best in one of my favorite songs of all time – “God Bless the USA!”

“If tomorrow all the things were gone I worked for all my life and I had to start again with just my children and my wife.  I’d thank my lucky stars to be living here today, cause the flag still stands for freedom and they can’t take that away.

I am proud to be an American where at least I know I’m free. And, I won’t forget the men who died to give that right to me.  I proudly stand up next to you and defend her still today.  Cause there ain’t no doubt I love this land.  God Bless the USA!”

Leave a Reply

