The Gift of Time

Interestingly enough spending time with the ones we love is the most important gift we have to give.  Unfortunately it seems to be the most difficult thing to give.

How many times do you say or hear, “I am sorry I haven’t (insert obligation).  I have been busy with (insert alternate obligation).”  We always have an excuse as to why we don’t have time to be with someone.  I have found that these “other” obligations are usually not as important as spending time with those who are important to you.

More times than I like to count, I find myself really caught up in a task when my daughter comes to me with a book.  My first instinct is to say “not now.”  I even get a little frustrated when she doesn’t go away.  Who is actually in the wrong here?  Me, of course.  My little girl is not even two and this time I have with her is fleeting.  Soon she will be an independent teenager who chooses to spend time with her friends, not her mom!  I will be begging for her to spend time with me, just as she is begging for me to spend time with her.

If you stop and ask yourself what is more important the task at hand or spending time with your loved ones – I think you will know what to do.  I now make myself take a deep breath, put down my work, and take the time to spend with my daughter.  The funniest part is that after a few minutes of cuddling, playing, and relaxing with her – I am in a much better place to finish my task.  I feel refreshed and renewed.

No amount of money in the world can replace the time that you spend with your loved ones.  People can’t be bought.  Memories, laughter, and sharing are the gifts that last forever.

This reminds me of a popular saying “the road to hell is paved with good intentions.”

Leave a Reply

