A name for a little girl…

I knew this little girl was going to special.  I had a sign, inspiration, whatever you want to call it.  My husband and I have very different views on many things, we rarely agree.  I just knew when it came to naming our little girl, we were going to have a hard time.  We started planning early, before we even knew we were having a girl.

We both came up with a list of boy and girl names.   After reviewing our lists we looked for commonalities and compromises.  We had a hard time choosing a boys name, because my husband’s family name is Guillermo.  It is the first name for all the men in their family tree.  Trying to find something to go with this first name was difficult, I wanted something Irish to represent my heritage.  Guillermo Logan, Guillermo Nathan, so on and so on.  Nothing really rolled off the tongue easily.  We had a good idea on a few girl names, but we had not narrowed anything down.

The day we found out we were having a girl, we were so excited.  We were in our kitchen talking about having a girl, when my husband noticed a little Stargazer Lily that I had bought.  One lily was open.  He looked at me and said Lily!  I smiled and knew it was perfect.  The next thought I had was Lilianna Marie.  We both agreed immediately, no need to discuss further.  I haven’t been more sure of anything in my life.

The funny part about this little lily that inspired her name is that it never bloomed again.  I was lonely during my pregnancy, because my husband had to move to Georgia before me.  I spent 8 months separate from him waiting for our home to sell so that we could buy our new home.  I bought my little lily to help brighten my days.  I had no idea at the time that it would be the symbol and inspiration for my daughter’s name.

My very own little Lily!

The significance of this flower is even more inspiring and a true symbol of my daughter’s spirit –  “Stargazer lilies are young, bold, beautiful, and dramatic. The meaning of these fragrant flowers can be one of wealth and prosperity, but their white variety can dress down to genuinely express purity and sympathy.”

One response to “A name for a little girl…

  1. Wow. Another weird coincidence…
    My mom always says “If you ever have a little girl, you better name her Lily!” And we have thought of that name too, since my husbands Grandma’s name is Lillian.

    What a beautiful flower too! =)

Leave a Reply

