Naturally inspired….

About 5 am this morning I was walking over to the barn to feed my horses when I noticed my little pear tree.  This tree has an interesting story that symbolizes life.

The story began in 2008 when we had to relocate to Georgia.  We were lucky to find a house that fit all our needs, but it needed a little work.  It had been foreclosed on and vacant for over two years.

In discovering all the hidden treasures this house had to offer, I found a little pear tree.  Now, I am not a tree expert.  I wasn’t able to identify this little tree by any other means except that there was one little pear on its branches.  Unfortunately for this little guy, he was completely strangled by honeysuckle, kudzu, and poison ivy vines.  In fact he was so covered, it almost looked like the honeysuckle vine had produced this little pear.

I was so excited about my little pear tree, operation save my pear tree began immediately.  I am  not a great gardener, so I don’t have all the tools necessary for this type of rescue mission.  Being the stubborn person that I am, I didn’t let the lack of tools slow me down.  I went into this mission with my bare hands (yep, no gloves) and a kitchen knife.

A little blood letting (some of those darn vines had briars), sore back, sweat, tears, muddy, and a bad case of poison ivy (bad enough to require steroids) – I freed my little tree.  I  was so tired I could barely stand up, but I was proud of my work.

After a year, which brings us to present day, my little pear tree is covered – COVERED- in pears.  It is so bountiful, beautiful, and producing a bounty of life.

Shedding off all the bad things in our lives that are strangling us, holding us down, and preventing us from getting what we need to flourish – is like getting rid of the vines off the pear tree.  Criticisms, negativity, abuse, neglect, self doubt, and people who sap all of our life energy are the vines of our tree.  It might take a lot of work, hurt, and maybe a little blood letting are all temporary and worth the effort – when you can reap the benefits of growth!

Flourish and grow!!!!!

2 responses to “Naturally inspired….

  1. That IS a truly inspirational story! I love that the little pear tree is covered in fruit now. But, yes, it really does transition well over to life, itself, doesn’t it? 🙂 I’ve had to do this a time or two in my life. Never easily, but it isn’t easy to grow in one’s self, otherwise.

    Thank you for sharing this story!

  2. Shannon Henrici

    Thank you for all of your support! I am building my little piece of this blog, little bit by little bit!

Leave a Reply

