Love Drop for April – Brenna’s Battle with Tuberous Sclerosis

It is funny how things happen in your life at just the right moment and it can change your path for a lifetime.  Fate, divine intervention, whatever you want to call it…  I have experienced this many times in my life.

During a recent blogging conference I heard about this new organization, Love Drop,  that is working hard to “Change the world!”  and bringing communities together to help those in need.  I have always stood on the outskirts of volunteering and never felt that I had the time or finances to contribute.  But Love Drop has invented a way to micro give and get involved as little or as much as you can, yet still feel good about helping.  Every contribution either small or large is greatly appreciated and makes you feel apart of this movement and community.

My journey into motherhood has been filled with many moments of fear, sadness, and even loneliness.  I expected the birth of my little girl to be a time of joy, happiness and plans for her future, which they still are at times.  Unfortunately, she was diagnosed with Tuberous Sclerosis at one month old and that is the day everything changed for me.  No one can ever imagine this struggle, until you are faced with it yourself.  Having come from a family with absolutely no history of any serious medical conditions, Heck! – I have never even broken anything!  This diagnosis BLEW me away!!!!  I remember thinking they must have made some mistake, I am the one who goes to the doctor feeling terrible only to be told “It is a virus!  No medications needed!”  I don’t think I have taken a full breath since that day!

I have always been stubbornly independent, even prided myself on not needing anyone to help me, and I believed that life was in my control.  My view has changed, because of my daughter and her condition.  I value my support network of friends and family, I couldn’t survive without them.  I now understand unconditional love, although it doesn’t come without the fear of loss and hurt.  An inner strength is so important to accept things that I can’t change and be happy for right now.  Asking for help is necessary and even essential to survival.

With this being said, I know this is why I was meant to read this story on Love Drop, Brenna’s battle with Tuberous Sclerosis.  This story is about a family fighting for their daughter who has the same condition as my little girl.  I can hear her cries for help in my heart,  I have cried the same ones.  She needs help and Love Drop is trying to give it to her.  Can you find it in your heart to do the same?  Contribute a $1, contribute $20, or just contribute a special gift for this little girl – whatever you can afford is GREAT!  You never know when you will be the one who needs help.

By Shannon Henrici of My Baby Clothes.  Use the code GIVE2TSA at checkout and 12% of your total purchase will go towards the Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance.  As you look at your beautiful budding ballerina in her new tutu and matching flowered baby headband, smile and think about the other babies you are helping with your purchase.

2 responses to “Love Drop for April – Brenna’s Battle with Tuberous Sclerosis

  1. “Asking for help is necessary and even essential to survival”–so true, a hard lesson I’ve had to learn.

    Brave post, Shannon. I know you’ve been through so much yourself, and I so love that you are trying to get another child help. What Love Drop is doing—for that little girl and other families in need—is awesome. I am off to donate!

    • Inspiredbylife

      Thank you for all of your support Ellen! I see you as my mentor, so it is nice to hear. You have this thing all figured out, I am still learning in your shadow.

Leave a Reply

