A Chance Encounter – A Fawn

I have always loved nature, animals, and just being outside.  Sometimes I forget to slow down and enjoy these things, I have had some amazing experiences when I do.

One of the greatest joys of my new job, is that I get to spend time working from home.  I pull my computer table outside, settle in my cushioned lawn chair and go to work. During one of these mornings working on my porch, I noticed a fawn munching on some grass in my front pasture.  He was so small, still had his white spots.  As I watched him for a while, I noticed that he was alone.  I thought for sure his mother would show up, but she never did.

Over the last few weeks, I have spotted this little fawn near the barn with the horses.  He will run off when he sees me coming to feed.  Still alone!  I am assuming that he is orphaned.  Pretty sweet deal for him though.  He hangs out with my crew, drinks fresh water from their trough, eats their left over oats, and is protected by these other “gigantic deer”.  I am thinking at this point the little guy thinks my horses are his new family.  Kind of funny when you think about it.  Here are these 5 gigantic deer who are feed by humans twice a day, fresh water every day, shelter from the weather, and lazy days to safely hang out.  I am sure he thinks “WOW!  These guys have it made!”

I haven’t gotten a chance to get a close look at the little fella, until the other day.  I woke up at 5 am to take a ride on Angelina, my soul mate.  We are so in sync.  Riding her is so much fun, I feel connected and complete when I am with her.  A little like in the movie “Avatar” when they hook up with the banshees to fly.  Anyway, back to the ride……

Angelina and I were lazily walking around the pasture when we happened up on the little fawn hiding in some brush.  I was only 5 feet from him.  With my being on Angelina (the gigantic deer), I must not have seemed like a threat.  He watched me for a few minutes then ran off into the woods.  Thinking it would be impossible, I decided to try to follow him to see if I could get closer.  I headed off in the direction that he fled.

I wasn’t much help in finding him, he took off so fast.  As I started down a path, Angelina pulled me away through some high brush.  Strange, I thought!?  She hates tall brush.  But, right in the middle of this brush was the little fawn.  She knew exactly where to look and that I wanted to find him.

He took off again.  As fate would have it Angelina slowly sauntered after him and tracked him down 3 more times.  First time, I thought it was blind luck, but the next three showed me that she knew exactly what she was doing.  Her mom wanted to find the little fawn, she found the little fawn.  I have always known that we were connected, but it is always amazing when you are reminded with those magical moments!

As for that little orphaned fawn, he has found his new home.  Pretty smart fella, if you ask me!  I can’t wait for my next ride.  I am taking the camera this time.  I will post the picture soon.

One response to “A Chance Encounter – A Fawn

  1. Sweet story. Hope the fawn makes it. Looking forward to the pictures.

Leave a Reply

