What does it mean to be inspired?

Webster defines inspiration as the following:
Definitions of inspiration on the Web:

  • arousal of the mind to special unusual activity or creativity
  • a product of your creative thinking and work; “he had little respect for the inspirations of other artists”; “after years of work his brainchild was a tangible reality”
  • a sudden intuition as part of solving a problem
  • divine guidance: (theology) a special influence of a divinity on the minds of human beings; “they believe that the books of Scripture were written under divine guidance”
  • arousing to a particular emotion or action

You hear this word a lot. I think it is one the top most popular questions among journalists, when interviewing celebrities. “Who or what inspired you?”  When I think of being inspired, I tend to lean towards people of influence as well. When asked this question of who or what inspired you, most people will answer with someone famous or their parents. I think that is a very mainstream answer.  Society almost pushes us to answer in this way.  We are pressured into naming someone that others can relate to, so we look cool, intelligent, or whatever.

I have found inspiration to be in many different and even unorthodox places. I can’t say that I am anyone famous, or done anything that will make a mark on society.  I am not a meditation expert, psychologist, or even extremely spiritual. I am just open minded, flexible, and always pursuing things to broaded my life.  I am a regular, normal, human being.

My purpose for creating this blog, is to create a haven for those who are struggling or have struggled. I hope that by sharing our experiences and struggles we can help others who are in the same situation. To say you have struggled doesn’t always have to mean that your wear the visible scars of abuse, lived on the streets, or suffered some unimaginable crime.  A lot of suffering goes on within each and every one of us as some point in our lives.  Yes, seeing someone who has it worse does make us appreciate what we have.  But in most cases it has been said, we shouldn’t feel sorry for ourselves because there is always someone who has it worse.  I agree, but that doesn’t mean we don’t struggle as well.  The only way to feel better is to get on a path to some acceptance, solution if possible, or just perspective.  By sharing here, we can help open our minds to alternative solutions. Ultimately find peace, love, and happiness in our lives.

I have managed to find a true happiness and have a very full enjoyable life. My post is not to be used for references or self help on how to get inspired. I want to share some of my experiences and hope to inspire others to open up their minds to inspiration that has been trying to talk to them.  Don’t get me wrong, I still have bad days and those are the days that I need inspiration.

I can’t name one thing or person who has inspired me. Over time, I have been inspired by a multitude of sources (animals, friends, bosses, co-workers, people I have met, children, family, and so much more). I hope to share these experiences of my journey.

Most of all I want to hear your journeys, struggles, inspirations, and resources for your life. We can all share and learn from each other. Life is tough, and a lot of us are struggling silently. We feel that we are alone in our suffering and can’t seem to find a way out. One thing is certain, THERE IS A WAY OUT!!! It just might not be through a door, maybe it is an open window, a hole in a fence, or even a small little crack in the wall – We will find it and we will get out!!!!

One response to “What does it mean to be inspired?

  1. Gwendolyn D. Grant

    I must admit, I have not thought about inspiration as much as I have right now after reading your blog. I cannot say I have been inspired by a particular person, it has always been a circumstance, a situation or just a thought or something that I did at a time when it surprised me. I was watching a program on TV one night and a man was about to have surgery and he spoke to the surgeon sharing these words, not necessarily verbatim: I have Survived, and I will survive today, no matter what. Not because of what you can do but because of what God will do. There is always a way with God, when things look like there is no way, He is the way to do the impossible to survive the unsurvivable and what you and I have in common is that we are inspired, in the face of the impossible we are inspired, so If I can offer one piece of advice to one of the worlds best doctors, today if you become frightened at any point during this or any day, instead become inspired. This was profound enough for me to take it and put in my words and use it for a surgery that I am about to undertake. That’s inspiration.

Leave a Reply

